SPFHS Chamber Choir carols to spread Christmas cheer


Vanessa Handy

On the first Sunday of December, the Scotch Plains-Fanwood High School Chamber Choir serenaded the community with festive music and carols at the Fanwood tree lighting at the Fanwood Train Station. The chamber choir attends this event annually and greets kids and adults alike, all coming to ring in the Christmas season with their favorite jolly old gift giver.
Tori O’Connor, SPF senior and Chamber Choir member, went to the tree lighting for her second year in a row and shared her thoughts about the event in full. O’Connor thinks that having the Chamber Choir at the event makes a positive impact on it.
“I think that having the choir there makes the tree lighting a lot more fun because families at the event can sing along to their favorite Christmas songs,” O’Connor said. “They can see members of their community performing for them that they might not otherwise get the chance to see”.  
The idea of a tree lightings is not a foreign concept here in SPF, with both Scotch Plains and Fanwood having separate annual tree lightings over the same weekend. O’Connor thinks that events like this are a wonderful way to connect the community for the holiday season.
“I think that this event allows people to see the similarities they have with their fellow neighbors and meet new people which will become friendly faces they see around town,” O’Connor said.
O’Connor loves getting to sing with her friends and spread holiday cheer to members of the community. The tree lighting also gives the Chamber choir a chance to change up their repertoire and perform contemporary holiday music.
“I think singing holiday music is so special because no matter who is listening, they will be able to confidently sing along and enjoy themselves,” O’Connor said.
Members of the SPF Chamber Choir include: Paolo Bayotas III, Peter Canevari, Rachella Carlino, John Demarco, Cristabella Fortna, Vanessa Handy, Billy Kasper, Kaitlyn Lamendola, Matt Mahmet, Brent Mankin, Shannon McCreesh, Roy McGowan, Tori O’Connor, Rachel Schuman, Audrey Smith, Josh Venick