Super Bowl 57: The Return of Chiefs Kingdom

Cooper Tamase, Opinion Editor

On February 12th, 2023 the Kansas City Chiefs defeated the Philadelphia Eagles by a score of 38-35 to win Super LVII (57) at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.


With the help of kicker Harrison Butker’s leg, the Chiefs would score the game-winning field goal that would put them up by 3.


After the game concluded, Chiefs quarterback, Patrick Mahomes II, received the award for Super Bowl Most Valuable Player after throwing for 182 passing yards to go along with three passing touchdowns.


The Super Bowl also saw performances from Chris Stapleton who sang the national anthem prior to the start of the game and Rihanna who performed the halftime show.


Kansas City Chiefs statistics:


Patrick Mahomes II: 21/27 (completions/attempts), 182 yards, three touchdown passes



Isiah Pacheco: 15 carries, 76 yards, one touchdown run


Patrick Mahomes II: Six carries, 44 yards


Jerick McKinnon: Four carries, 34 yards


Skyy Moore: One carry, four yards



Travis Kelce: Six catches, 81 yards, one touchdown reception


JuJu Smith-Schuster: Seven catches, 53 yards


Justin Watson: Two catches, 18 yards


Jerick McKinnon: Three catches, 15 yards


Noah Gray: One catch, six yards


Kadarius Toney: One catch, five yards, one touchdown reception


Skyy Moore: One catch, four yards, one touchdown reception


Philadelphia Eagles statistics:


Jalen Hurts: 27/38 (completions/attempts), 304 yards, one touchdown pass



Jalen Hurts: 15 carries, 70 yards, three touchdown runs


Kenneth Gainwell: Seven carries, 21 yards


Miles Sanders: Seven carries, 16 yards


Boston Scott: Three carries, eight yards



Devonta Smith: Seven catches, 100 yards


A.J. Brown: Six catches, 96 yards, one touchdown reception


Dallas Goedert: Six catches, 60 yards


Kenneth Gainwell: Four catches, 20 yards


Zach Pascal: Two catches, 11 yards


Boston Scott: One catch, nine yards


Quez Watkins: One catch, eight yards


The next Super Bowl, Super Bowl LVIII (58), will be played on February 11, 2024, at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada.